About us...


Historically, our surgical practice was established in 1971 by Thomas E. Shaver MD.  Dr. Shaver's passion for patient care was the driving force behind the creation of Orange County's regional trauma system at Mission Hospital in 1980.  In addition, many community-oriented programs to improve patient health care were developed and implemented during those formative years.  Dr. Shaver retired from the practice in 2007 but the legacy and values of compassionate surgical care continue on in our group.

Today,we have entered an exciting new phase of growth and development in our practice.  In 2016, our Mission Viejo physicians joined with the South Orange County Surgical Medical Group physicians to form a collaborative team of surgeons doing business as OC Surgeons.   We have expanded our commitment to excellence in surgical care in our community and are dedicated to the quality treatment of surgical needs of general surgery and trauma patients in the South Orange County area.  Our group has three divisions of surgeons:  the SOC Division in Laguna Hills, the SVS Division in Mission Viejo and OC Trauma Division at Mission Hospital.  All OC Surgeon Divisions are invested in the welfare and improvement of health-related issues in the community where we live and work. 

Currently in our SVS Division, we are team of four surgeons: Dr. John Shaver, Dr. Louise Bacon, Dr. Ahmad Abou Abbass, Dr. Marla Anderson, Dr. Matthew Brady.  All are Board Certified by the American Board of Surgery (ABS) and Fellows in the American College of Surgeons (FACS). 

Our OC Trauma Division surgeons are Dr. Kenneth Kushner, Dr. Tetsuya Takeuchi, Dr. Matthew Wilson, Dr. Kevin Chiang, Dr. Kirellos Zamary, and Dr. Steven Godelman. 

Our SOC Division surgeons are Dr. William Wallace, Dr. Blake Ashley, Dr. Robert Duensing, Dr. Wang Teng, Dr. Nora Evans, Dr. Jason Wong, Dr. D. Daniel Dearing, and Dr. Rahul Sharma.

Future plans involve continued growth, expansion, and development of our practice with recruitment of dedicated surgeons in our community.